RSS

Maintaining my Sanity

01 Nov

Having little kids is like being on a roller coaster. Sometimes it’s fun. Sometimes it’s scary. It always goes by way too fast. 90% of the time I go to bed at night wishing that I’d had just a few more hours that day, or gotten just a few more things done. Sound familiar to anyone else? When Chloe was born, I suddenly felt as if my life were no longer my own and I was on constant Mom duty. Being a mom is awesome, but sometimes, I just need to be Jessica.

What do I do to maintain my sanity? I try to get up an hour before anyone else (even Andrew). It may sound trivial, but it makes all the difference. Despite the long to do lists that pile up around here, this time is just for me. My favorite thing to do then? Go for a good run. It helps me clear my head and start my day off right. The positive endorphins somehow find a way to creep into the rest of my day and make me a happier mom and wife. Other days, I read, or blog, or spend some time rowing, or on a really productive day, I sew! Right now I’m counting down the days until next weekend when daylight savings time changes and I can enjoy the sun during ‘my time’.

I actually think that this is one of our secrets to getting out on adventures with our kids. Andrew and I each have our own time to work on things we want to do. This is almost never when the kids are awake. That way, when we’re with the kids, we can actually spend our time doing something productive together. It also gives me time to think about what kind of things we want to get out and do together and some goals. Time to think about each child and their needs, without them constantly needing something.

Go ahead and give it a try. Maybe it won’t change your world, but it might just save your sanity for one more day.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on November 1, 2011 in Ideas, Misc, Tips

 

Tags: , ,

7 responses to “Maintaining my Sanity

  1. Marta Murray

    November 1, 2011 at 2:09 pm

    Wise. So wise!

     
  2. Amelia (AKA Mountain Mama)

    November 1, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    My thoughts exactly….my 5 am workout class is EAR-LY, but I can handle my kids soooo much better the rest of the day (even if I am up with the baby numerous times throughout the night) and feel amazing. Plus it keeps me accountable for a workout (especially as winter sets in and runs outside aren’t quite as easy – though still doable!) Thanks for sharing!!!

     
  3. kenandtris

    November 1, 2011 at 4:36 pm

    I love the early morning time. I need to remember that time when kids are awake is precious, not for buzzing around doing my tasks. Hard to do sometimes.

     
  4. Jacqueline Stewart

    November 1, 2011 at 7:55 pm

    Great idea but when the alarm clock goes off….it doesn’t feel so great 🙂 I’m not an early riser, by nature but you are right..just having some ‘me’ time is invaluable.

     
  5. bringthekid

    November 1, 2011 at 8:01 pm

    Jacqueline – I’m sure Andrew would agree with you. As soon as my alarm goes off, the pillow covers his head – HA!

     
    • Aspen Real Life (@jillylivi)

      November 2, 2011 at 2:16 pm

      My husband is definitely not a morning person. If he sits down to his coffee and I say, “So I was thinking….,” he looks at me exasperated and motions, without words, that he hasn’t had his pot of coffee yet and all conversation needs to wait until then but at the point in which he does finish the pot he is rushing out the door to catch the bus for the kids, which he misses 70% of the time. Maddening!!!

       
  6. Aspen Real Life (@jillylivi)

    November 2, 2011 at 2:13 pm

    If only we had more quiet hours in our day to get things done!! I wake up at 6 and as helpful as it is, I should be getting up at 5 or better yet, not sleeping at all. If only lack of sleep wasn’t the #1 killer, I’d do it I swear!!!

    Tks for finding me on Twitter. Looking forward to sharing adventures!

    http://aspenreallife.com

     

Leave a Reply

 
