RSS

Why we keep going

11 Aug

So I’ll admit, there were a few parts of our backpacking trip that, well…they really sucked.  Like the first night when we were hiking uphill the whole time having the life sucked out of us by the swarms of mosquitoes.  Several times I was on the verge of screaming and storming back down the mountain back to the comfortable mosquito free zone of the car.  However, Andrew was trying so hard to make this work and to keep the kids happy that I decided to hang in there.  I had already made up my mind that as soon as the morning came, we’d be out of there!

My “I hate everything about this trip, especially the bugs” picture

Well, morning came and with it, a slight relief from the bugs.  We decided to make a short hike up to the lake and then leave.  A funny thing happened though.  I found myself caught up in it all, not wanting to leave.  And we didn’t.  Andrew went back down the trail to grab the tent and sleeping bags and the kids and I kept hiking to our next destination.  Life was good again.  I loved what we were doing.

As we’ve been home, I’ve had time to reflect on the emotional roller coaster I was on during this trip.  I wanted to figure out why we kept going.  Finally I had an epiphony.  We keep going because that’s just what we do.  In life.  In love.  In everything.  When something hard happens to us, we don’t just quit.  If my kids are particularly rotten one day, I don’t just throw in the towel and stop being a mom the next day.  Nope.  Andrew doesn’t just quit his job because he’s working on an awful project.  Nope.  We keep going.  I think that is one of the defining characteristics of the human race.  The ability to continue on when things get difficult.

Having fun and enjoying life once again!

Adventures with kids are the same way.  Lots of times you’ll just want to quit and head for the nearest McDonalds, but don’t.  Keep going.  Hang in there.  Tomorrow will be a new day with new reasons to play with your kids.  Yep, it could suck again, but chances are far greater that everyone will have a blast.  Just keep going!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 11, 2011 in Ideas, Tips

 

One response to “Why we keep going

  1. Eva

    August 12, 2011 at 3:04 pm

    Thanks for sharing this, Jess

     

Leave a Reply

 
